Hunt for Treasure – II

I woke up at 5 o’clock, saw Moile is already there,sipping a hot glass of milk tea. Looking at me he smiled and told me in Nepali to freshen up and join him for the breakfast. Sitaram and Kejang also woke up , the rain has stopped by early morning, the mystic fragment of wet soil in misty morning could be felt,it was calm and partially cloudy. The Hill patridge was giving call, which was still a lifer for me, as I haven’t seen this bird in my life yet. Moile told me, he sees it everyday, it just like an old hen which is there in his house.

We all got freshened up, Moile’s wife had already prepared breakfast for us we finished it and then started walking towards “The treasure”. On my way I could see beautiful birds like silver-eared mesia, Black-throated sunbird, Striated Yuhina and many more interesting species. The trek was tough one, with steep slopes, terrain was slippery due to the rain last night accompanied by spiny weeds which made our trek and our hunt for treasure really a memorable one. After walking around 3km, Moile stopped and pointed at one of the tree, the one behind Alstonia scholaris our state tree. He said the treasure is there behind it. Moile was fully confident, but we weren’t, we wanted to get the confirmation and hence we waited there. We waited hidden behind the tall grass by the slope, to see if the “Guard” of “the treasure” arrives and then only we can have confirmation. As we waited for some time, may be half an-hour and then finally the “guard” arrives. Making his way through the infinite blue sky , just like so royal the hush-hush wing beat and the distinct rufous colour looked so vibrant in that partially sunny day and yes we finally found the “treasure” ,as the “Guard” peeks inside “the treasure tomb” to check whether everything was fine.

I was so excited, that I wish to jump around but somehow I managed to control it, just like how Sitaram and Kejang controlled their emotions. Finally the pain, hard work was worth.

Here is picture of “royal guard”

P1250511

Now as we had foud the treasure, and seeing the “treasure” was safe we thought of heading back to Jayanti but the adventure wasn’t over yet. The rain started again and this time it was heavy. so now, how we will return………it wasn’t going to end so soon!

2 thoughts on “Hunt for Treasure – II

Leave a comment