Hysterical Buxa – Introduction

 

Have you ever dream’t of seeing a dry tree with full of big birds, that too in a silhouette? When you are on a survey in the forest and told to sight one of the rarest birds seen in that area, but on that day on your 5 km walk you get to see 22 of those rare birds! Its too hot and to save yourself from the scorching heat of sunlight you take a shed under a tree, not realizing that a pope’s pit viper is also relaxing there on a tree branch, just 3 feet above your head! Its monsoon time, you are walking by the river downstream now at a point you have to cross big boulders to move ahead and there is only narrow place where you have to keep your feet and swiftly cross it, so just one small slip you are down in the fast-moving water of huge depth and thinking of it you slip !!! Or if I say that, I have been walking 300 km per month on an average in the tropical forest of eastern Himalayas for past 8 months? Here you need to believe what I say.

These all above mentioned events happened with me in this last few months when I was exploring Buxa, one of very unique forest of North Bengal. I have spent 15 months of my life in Buxa in the search of hornbills and in hope to conserve these beautiful birds. While I was on this beautiful journey, I have seen near about 350 species of birds, 25 species of mammals and of course many more invertebrate species. Also the famous King cobra.

On my journey, I have came across not only some breathtaking encounters with wild animals but got to meet some exceptional human-beings living in small villages and also got to understand ‘what is necessity and what is luxury’.

I will be taking you through this journey of mine.This was just an introduction to the series like a teaser to the film.

2 thoughts on “Hysterical Buxa – Introduction

  1. I enjoyed the whole scenario through every word of yours. I really want to be a part of it one fine day.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment